I am what is around me

17 Jul
Self Portrait, 2011, oil on board, 8 x 10 inches

“Theory”

I am what is around me.

Women understand this.
One is not duchess
A hundred yards from a carriage.

These, then are portraits:
A black vestibule;
A high bed sheltered by curtains.

These are merely instances.

–from my own tattered copy of Wallace Stevens, The Collected Poems, page 86

Vintage Books, New York, copyright 1982


5 Responses to “I am what is around me”

  1. male in the crowd July 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Not a clue.

  2. male in the crowd August 3, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    …and not much of a crowd, either.

    • hellosinki August 3, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      who are you, male in the crowd?

      • datr3128 August 13, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

        I’m in the crowd as a male, but I’m not snarky. Sticking around, catching hellosinki when I can. Keep posting. I’ll keep following. Your artful Kung Fu is strong.

      • hellosinki August 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

        Thanks, Dave! I’m glad you’re still checking into the blog! I’ve been less faithfully posting lately since I just moved to another city, but I’m hoping things will pick up again when I am more settled. 🙂

Leave a Reply

