Antti Korpin Tie

13 Jun

Very slowly I am starting to unpack and sort through all the work I made in Helsinki. A few things never made it to the blog, which I will post over the next few days. Here is another sketch of the view from my balcony of my building in Helsinki at night.

Anti Korpin Tie, 2010, gouache and watercolor on paper, 15.75 x 11.75 inches

At a Window

by Carl Sandburg

Give me hunger,

O you gods that sit and give

The world its orders.

Give me hunger, pain and want,

Shut me out with shame and failure

From your doors of gold and fame,

Give me your shabbiest, weariest hunger!

But leave me a little love,

A voice to speak to me in the day end,

A hand to touch me in the dark room

Breaking the long loneliness.

In the dusk of day-shapes

Blurring the sunset,

One little wandering, western star

Thrust out from the changing shores of shadow.

Let me go to the window,

Watch there the day-shapes of dusk

And wait and know the coming

Of a little love.

[source]
6 Responses to “Antti Korpin Tie”

  1. datr3128 June 13, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    oh my…nice selection, and a lovely painting. Helsinki got to you too, didn’t it : )
    i think i found this place!

  2. PPusa June 13, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Although I’ve never felt the neighbourhood quite that way, I like the way you’ve painted it. Better than the real thing!

  3. TIna June 16, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    Jackie…I miss you.

    • hellosinki June 16, 2011 at 5:10 am #

      Aw, Tina! I miss you, too. See you in a few short weeks…and then, this fall I will see you all the time!

Leave a Reply

