Omakuvat

20 Feb

A friend of mine paints a self-portrait every year. Over time, she has built up a time capsule of her appearance (or her perception of her appearance). Lately, when I want to warm up or use up leftover paint, I have been making some self-portraits, too. They don’t all look like me but I think if you mashed them all together, it might be a more accurate portrait.

5 Responses to “Omakuvat”

  1. dave February 20, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    first of all, nice portraits. din’t some musician do this sort of thing too? dylan? joni mitchell?
    anyway, what a can of worms you opened for me with your parenthetic remark about perception. perception is everything, because it’s simply all we’ve got. why is life so mysterious? partly, i think, because we only have a perception of it. we never see ourselves; we only are able to see our own reflection (ironically, the opposite image of reality’s version), or a representation (RE-presentation) created by someone or something else, like a photograph. never the original.
    the whole idea of perception is one of my recurring personal mental torture sessions. i guess it’s the price i pay for living alone with my perceptions. at any rate, there’s nothing to be done about it, since there’s not much else to work with in this life.

    • hellosinki February 23, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      Hey Dave! Thanks for the comment as always and my apologies for the delay…been a busy week over here for me! And I totally agree–perception is everything! as an artist, this is also a source of mental torture.

  2. Nicola Elvin December 26, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Hey, I love the 3rd one, it’s composed beautifully and I love the colours you’ve used, the way you used just shades of yellow for the ski and purple for the shadows, works beautifully.

  3. sarah February 22, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    These paintings are beautiful.. I am currently doing my fine art individual practice module and came across this when researching.. My project title is on emotions and how you change on a day to day basis. Please can I have this artists name to include in my research as inspiration?

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

