landscapes

17 Nov

Technically, I live in the city of Helsinki but my neighborhood, Koskela, is very residential. Even in the center of the downtown area, there are many trees and parks. On my walk to school, I can take a short cut through a forest. Lately, I have been making lots of little paintings on paper, especially sketches of or inspired by the Finnish landscape. I’m going to try to be more diligent about posting some of them.

8 Responses to “landscapes”

  1. Tompa November 17, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Amazing! I love the colors because they remind me of some of the beautiful neon northern sunsets I’ve seen in Finland. I don’t know much about Merimmekko but these could easily be prints.

    • hellosinki November 17, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      Thanks a lot for your comment! It means a lot to me when people look and like my paintings 🙂

  2. Nichole November 17, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Magnifique. Your palette is very aurora borealis.

  3. Marysue Hobika November 17, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    Jackie – I love these. The landscapes must be truly inspirational. Tom doesn’t know yet but I’m in the market for a new painting – a large one that can hang in the same room as the painting of yours that we already have. I enjoyed this post – its fun to see what you are currently working on. Take care! —Marysue

    • hellosinki November 17, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      Thanks, Marysue. I’m going to try to post more of what I have been making here on the blog–the landscape and the especially the trees here are really beautiful. I love all the birch trees! I’m not working very large these days but I’d be happy to give you guys a new painting when I get back to the States! Hope all is well and say hello to the family for me. XOXO

  4. nori November 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Beautiful, Finnish sky should be like your paints, so that everyone here is happy.

    • hellosinki November 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      Kiitos, Nori. Sinä olet mukava ystävä.

Leave a Reply

