Upperdog

23 Sep

Director: Sara Johnsen

[Photo credit: moviewatcher.us]

Again tonight, I tried to see a sold out movie at the Helsinki Film Festival. I ended up seeing Upperdog, a Norwegian film by the Director Sara Johnsen. I had no clue what to expect from this movie and I admit that I was nervous after the last movie, Ordinary People, turned into such a downer. This movie surprised me.

Two children that are adopted into different families in Norway. Though they are half-siblings, they do not keep in touch over the years. A chance encounter and a photograph bring them back together. The events leading to their reunion are woven into a couple of burgeoning romances. This movie is about falling in love and the strength of familial ties.

Trailer:

Rating:

I would give this movie three stars. Enjoyable and heart-warming!

Leave a Reply

