finally working!

6 Sep

After nearly three weeks of getting acclimated to my new city, I have finally starting painting. I have a disposable palette, a range of colors in gouache and many soft brushes. The gouache is a welcome change of pace for me. For a while, I had been hooked on finessing the surface of my paintings to an impossible sheen; I was seriously buying Golden’s Polymer Gloss Medium in bulk! The flat brilliance of the gouache is delightfully strange to me. I am using Winsor & Newton Designers Gouache and a Finnish brand that is sold at my school. I am hoping that I can find a scanner at my school to have better images of my finished works for a future post.

4 Responses to “finally working!”

  1. Mark September 6, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Awesome, glad to see you found a way to paint, I know you are happier when you have a paintbrush in your hand!

    • hellosinki September 6, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      So true! And I am even happier with a paint brush in hand, a cup of strong coffee and an ipod full of podcasts.

  2. Nichole September 6, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Woo hoo for you ! Can you tell us more about gouache ? Specifically, will you be diluting it with local things, such as reindeer blood? The name is very intriguing. Love the new work thus far; was it inspired by all the awesome things that you saw at the design fair?

    • hellosinki September 7, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      Gouache is derived from the italian word aguazzo meaning “mud” because it is a water based, opaque medium. Gouache has more pigment than traditional watercolor paints, and it also has a chalky substance added, to heighten the opacity.

      http://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/pigmt7.html

      I think that I will go with convention and use water to dilute my gouache paint but I thought you might be interested to know about the color “bone black” which was in fact made from stolen bones in the seventeenth century. Other historical colors that might interest you:

      Mummy = from ground up mummies, also sometimes called asphaltum
      Dragon’s Blood = purported mix of dragon and elephant blood, but in fact was from the red gum of a particular tree in South East Asia
      Indian Yellow = made from the urine of cows that were fed mango leaves

      To see more:
      http://www.paintmaking.com/historic_pigments.htm

Leave a Reply

