Day One

19 Aug

After a long flight, I have safely arrived to my new home on Antti Korpin Tie 4 A. Today, I was too exhausted to wander very far. I spent most of the day settling in and unpacking my suitcases. The weather was extraordinary here- sunny and about 20 degrees Celsius (about 70 degrees Fahrenheit). I could not have asked for more perfect weather to welcome me. The area feels very residential with many low apartment buildings and houses on the tree-lined streets. There are more trees and bikes than I had anticipated. All of the streets have a path for bikers and pedestrians. It feels like I am living in the middle of a large park with swing sets and benches galore.

My room is small but comfortable. I have a desk, two chairs, two lamps, a closet and a bed. From my window, I can see many trees.

There are two grocery stores within walking distance of my apartment building and a few shops for pizza or ice cream. Other than that, my neighborhood is very quiet.

It’s after 11 PM and I just met my flat mate, Katrina. She is studying Finnish literature but sadly, she will be leaving in two weeks to finish her degree in Germany. I share a kitchen and a bathroom with Katrina. The larger common area is shared by eight people and connects four other two-person suites like mine. I have not met or seen any of the other people living in the adjoining apartments.

There are leather sofas, a few tables and some additional storage space in this common room. Many plants live on the sun room connected to the common spaces.

Although I took a nap early today, I am still exhausted. Time to sleep for the first time in my new bed, under my Marimekko duvet cover.

My official address is:

4 Responses to “Day One”

  1. Shonda Rae August 20, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    Hi Jackie! So happy you made it safely! Your place is so cute! Since your current roomie is leaving soon, will you be alone or get a new flat mate?
    I thought of you this past weekend b/c “Confessions of a Shopaholic” was on TV and in it the main character talks about Finland a lot and tells people she knows Finnish. Good luck and keep the blogs coming! 🙂
    oh- whats the time difference from here to there?

    • hellosinki August 20, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

      Hi Shonda! Nice to hear from you. I think that I will be getting a new roommate. You can also tell Laura that there is a space opening up, in case she wants to move here! The time difference is seven hours– so it’s 10:30 PM here and 3:30 PM in Atlanta.

      I will check out “Confessions of a Shopaholic” for the Finnish references!

  2. nikki August 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    So glad to see that you are settling in… You are taking to Finland much more easily than Josie is taking to nursery school.

    • hellosinki August 22, 2010 at 7:52 am #

      Do you think that she would feel better in a new Marimekko outfit?

Leave a Reply

